Keeping it rural this Christmas with Louis Eliot & The Embers: 25th of the 12th

Louis Eliot & The Embers
New single : 25th of the 12th

Louis Eliot was named a “True pop genius” by The Times, so you can imagine my excitement when his new album landed on my desk earlier this week. I am not going to lie though, at first I was a little worried, as the accompanying release was titled “Keeping it rural this Christmas”. First off living smack in the middle of London makes me about as non-rural as it get (and I chose to live as far away from anything rural for a reason), and secondly Christmas singles… well the thought of them just fill me up with sheer terror.

I am sure I am not the only one who has this fear of the Christmas single, especially as we are looking at another year, in which we will no doubt become inundated with crap x-factoresque tripe. But hey, everyone else has been saying such great things about the single, so I put my reservations aside and I am glad I did!

Eliot (ex Kinky Machine & Rialto) has returned to the music scene with his second solo album Kittow’s Moor, the first record he has made with his new band The Embers. The band features among others, Martin Bell (ex Wonderstuff) who plays the fiddle, mandolin and banjo on the record. He also carried out co-production duties and composed the brass arrangements.

The first single off the album is the Christmas single 25th of the 12th, which is available now on iTunes. The song is a romantic tale of the Cornish countryside at Christmas, that had even me dreaming of getting on the next train and fleeing London life. The poetic lyrics really bring the song to life, with picturesque beauty in a irresistible, jaunty pastoral pop sound. “When I wrote it, I think I had the poppier sound of Billy Bragg, Kirsty MacColl’s New England, the jangle of The Byrds, Robyn Hitchcock and even a bit of post-Faces Ronnie Lane in mind,” says Louis. “Ronnie seemed to be interested in where rock and roll meets vintage agricultural machinery – sounding more steam powered than electric. Or maybe that’s just me….” So while undoubtedly many will be listening to some awful “charity single” do your self a favour and check out a Christmas single actually worth listening to.

The full album will be out January, but in the mean time, you can check out Louis Eliot as he plays a number of gigs throughout London to promote the album and the christmas single – cumulating with the big Xmas launch party on Dec 16th at the Maxilla Social Club.

For full gig listings go to: http://www.myspace.com/louiseliot

Posted via web from Everything Popular is Wrong

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

